TRAVEL DIARY | OSLO, NORWAY

I’ve been missing Oslo a lot in the last couple of weeks so I thought I’d share a little more insight into our trip there back in May. My friends and I spent five sunny days exploring the city and it definitely became my favourite place I’ve visited so far. We stayed in a dreamy Airbnb flat in Grünerløkka – a vibrant district with lots of street art, independent cafes and vintage boutiques.

IMG_4369IMG_4375IMG_4389IMG_4384On our first night we trekked up the hill to Ekebergparken and it was absolutely worth it to see the gorgeous city views in the sunset.

IMG_4386IMG_4381IMG_4388IMG_4376IMG_4382IMG_4383IMG_4379IMG_4377IMG_4387The weather was incredible every day which resulted in lots of iced coffee runs, boozy picnics in numerous parks and soaking up the sun on the roof of The Opera House. A walk through Majorstuen on the west side of Oslo provided us with the most idyllic streets and luxurious buildings you could imagine. We accidentally stumbled upon Telthusbakken, a street lined up with cute old multicoloured wooden houses which I was really happy about as I had seen pictures from there but forgotten to add it to our list!

IMG_4367IMG_4397IMG_4393IMG_4402IMG_4396IMG_4378

The Botanical Garden was down the road from our flat which we ended up going to twice as we enjoyed it so much, as well as to Blå by the river Akerselva which we discovered has a surrounding market on Sundays. Usually when I do city trips I only stay for a few days so having more time to explore so many different parts of Oslo without having to rush through places and even revisit the best ones was lovely. We all love SKAM too so seeing some of the filming locations around the capital was particularly exciting. We even got lucky enough to bump into Tarjei from the show on our second day there which was totally unexpected!

I completely fell in love with Oslo and couldn’t have been happier with the neighbourhood we chose to stay in, I was ready to pack up my bags in London and move. I have been learning Norwegian this year so perhaps one day…

Heather x

Leave a Reply

